Why I’m not leaving the church

http://holyhellions.com/2013/07/31/why-im-not-leaving-the-church/

header-one-2

(I REALLY want to agree wholeheartedly with this post but I have some major reservations. More on this in a future post perhaps.)

“To be sure, just because some people call themselves the true church doesn’t make it so. I’m asking you to consider sitting with a church that is trying to be honest, trying to love well, but in all likelihood getting it wrong, only seeing part of the story. Because it’s human. And so are we.

This is why I’m not leaving the church: It’s one of the few public spaces left in which I can regularly rub up against people who rub me the wrong way. And I think there’s value in that, as I learn to dialogue with difference and practice my perspective.”

Image source and article: http://holyhellions.com/2013/07/31/why-im-not-leaving-the-church/

h/t to Ian for the link via facebook.

And speaking of Ian, be sure to check out his (currently in production) short film, From The Sky.

2 thoughts on “Why I’m not leaving the church

  1. Pingback: Why We Left the Church (Our Stories) | LoneTomato808's Blog

  2. Pingback: Beyond Every Generation-Church Talk | LoneTomato808's Blog

Leave a Reply

