Not Getting How Horrible Bible Is

http://experimentaltheology.blogspot.com/2013/09/not-getting-how-horrible-bible-is.html

[Grammar Note: Yes, that title ends with “is.”]

I’ve read some of the most scandalous passages in the bible to men in prison or with the poor and, for whatever reason, they don’t blink an eye. With liberal, educated audiences such passages would completely hijack the conversation. And no judgment about that, these passages hijack the conversation for me. But I’ve noticed that they don’t hijack the conversation at the margins.

and later…

Whenever I hear complaints about the bible being horrible I’m generally talking to a person of advantage and privilege. Generally White. Generally educated. Generally rich (by the world’s standards).

And it’s likely that my privilege is blinding me in certain ways in how I’m listening out of the margins. I may be really missing the boat on this.

images

Image source and article: http://experimentaltheology.blogspot.com/2013/09/not-getting-how-horrible-bible-is.html

Leave a Reply

