What to (and not to) say to someone who just lost a loved one

http://gcnjustin.tumblr.com/post/59426244539/my-mom-just-died-heres-what-you-should-say

I’m amazed at how often I find myself, as a grieving person, having to comfort other people for their feelings of helplessness and discomfort surrounding my grief. It’s okay that you don’t know what to say or do. I don’t expect you to. And if you can’t think of anything you could do in this situation, there’s probably not anything. It’s okay to just be a good listener. I’d rather not be tasked with the responsibility of finding something for you to do.

Angel

Photo by: Allan

 
Read the rest of the article here: http://gcnjustin.tumblr.com/post/59426244539/my-mom-just-died-heres-what-you-should-say

Leave a Reply

