I’M AN EX-WESTBORO CHURCH MEMBER WHO HAS RENOUNCED THE GROUP MY GRANDFATHER FOUNDED

http://www.xojane.com/issues/libby-phelps-alvarez-westoboro-baptist-church

People sometimes ask why it took me so long to leave. I seem so well-adjusted and, well, normal, so they don’t understand how I could have ever thought my family and their beliefs were anything but hateful.

But, for almost 26 years, I was more than just sheltered. I was warned against the outside world: again and again, in sermons and private conversations, I was told that people outside of WBC were sinners, alcoholics, drug addicts, lost souls with no moral compass. So I was terrified of what lurked beyond the protective walls my family had carefully erected around me -– especially of gay people, because according to the WBC, homosexuals were the absolute worst group of people in the world.

And later…

When you look at the places WBC picketed, it seems as if church members are continually compelled to find someone or something to complain about, or they cannot be content.

In the inner workings of the church, the same is true. The elders will find fault with a person, and when that situation is resolved to their satisfaction, they’ll scan the rest of the group in search of another insignificant issue with which to find fault and “correct.” They rebuke one another.

DSC01735_0

Image source and article: http://www.xojane.com/issues/libby-phelps-alvarez-westoboro-baptist-church

Leave a Reply

